Switching Providers

If you’ve been following my story, you’ll remember that I’ve struggled a bit with the care that I have gotten thus far for my Thyroid Cancer.  The Endocrinologist that I have been seeing put me through a lot during this pregnancy – including taking me off of all of my Thyroid medications for three weeks during the first trimester.  I felt like they weren’t listening to me and respecting me as a patient.

Last week, I went for a second opinion appointment with another Endocrinologist based off of a recommendation from fellow mama and Thyca survivor.

After having a week to absorb everything I think I can finally say – I feel so blessed to have found a new provider!  I left the appointment feeling that my concerns had not only been listened to, but a plan that met with my expectations has been made! He was extremely concerned about the lack of medication for a prolonged period of time during first trimester, and stressed that they could have jeopardized my pregnancy and caused a miscarriage.  I praise God that my baby is healthy and strong and arriving soon!

He has agreed to return me to a natural desiccated thyroid (NDT) medication after the baby arrives, instead of continuing on the synthetic version. We decided that switching medications again during pregnancy is a risk, and although I am not feeling well I don’t want to jeopardize the baby by changing everything again. I was on NDT before we conceived, and felt so healthy and strong while I was on it! I will start NDT soon after birthing, and we will adjust it based on my symptoms – not just the lab numbers.  Once I have my Thyroid removed, he will work with me to make sure that the transition to being completely dependent upon the hormone replacement goes smoothly.

I am so thankful that I have been able to find a provider who hears my concerns, and takes me seriously as a patient.  I feel so relieved to be supported as we move forward. Having the freedom to switch providers to get the best care for me is amazing, and I want to emphasize again how thankful I am to not have to rely upon a military treatment facility for my care.

~Mama

CombatBootMama

Leave a comment